The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Perfectly perfect potato salad

So to make my incredibly easy potato salad you only need 7 ingredients… 5 if you don’t count the salt and pepper.

What you’ll need:

potatoes
hard boiled eggs
pickles
mustard
miracle whip
salt & pepper

All you do is peel and wash about 7 good sized potatoes. My mother uses red potatoes because she says they are sweeter. Honestly I can’t taste the difference. She also leaves the skins on and I peel mine…it’s all a matter of personal taste. Cut the potatoes up into fairly large chunks. You don’t want them boiling away to nothing, we’re not making mashed potatoes after all. Boil them until a fork slides through the potato easily. Drain and cool. I usually put mine in the freezer if I’m in a hurry. Cut up some hard boiled eggs and dump them on top of the potatoes. Cut up some dill pickles on top of that. I cut my eggs and pickles a little on the big side just because I like to taste them. Add just a squirt of mustard. Any old mustard will do but I prefer good ole yellow mustard. Add salt and pepper, how much is up to you. Now here’s the important part. As a general rule I use real mayonnaise but for this recipe I use Miracle Whip. It has extra flavor that real mayonnaise doesn’t and it really spices up your potato salad. Trust me. The amount of mayo is totally up to you. Add more if you like creamy potato salad. A little less if you like it on the dry side. Stir it all up and ta-da! You have a great tasting potato salad that was quick and easy and everybody will ooh and ahh over your spectacular cooking skills!

Cost:
potatoes – $2.00/5 lb bag
eggs – $1.09/ dozen
pickles – $2.12/jar
mustard – $0.79
miracle whip – $2.12
Total: $8.12 with leftovers

This recipe was originally published on Happy At Home on 10/18/2008

December 7, 2008 - Posted by | --potatoes, SIDE DISHES | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

