The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Hazel’s simple coleslaw

Tim is a funny eater. He loves coleslaw but only his mother’s. I’ve tried to get him to eat other coleslaw but it never works. I finally broke down and got his mother’s recipe. It’s so simple I couldn’t believe it! And I’m happy to say I was told I made it perfectly! =)

What you’ll need:

½ head raw cabbage
2 Tbl apple cider vinegar
2 Tbl mayonnaise
Salt & pepper to taste

I shred everything by hand but if you have a food processor you can use it. I have a side to my grater that looks like little stars, that’s the side I use for this recipe. Grate up the cabbage super fine. Stir in the remaining ingredients and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Cost:
cabbage – $2.00
vinegar – $1.19
mayonnaise – $2.50
Total – $1.18

December 8, 2008 - Posted by | -vegetables, SIDE DISHES | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

