The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Beans & sausage

This is a meal that makes me feel like I’m back home with my parents. My mom didn’t make it very often but it still feels like one of her dinners. I make this often. It’s another set it and almost forget it meals.

What you’ll need:

1 bag of dry pinto beans
1 smoked sausage
Salt & pepper to taste

I DON’T soak my beans overnight like I’ve always been told to do. It’s never caused me any problems either. I DO pick through my beans before they go in the pot though. I’ve found rocks and other things in the bag that I don’t want in my dinner!

After sorting through the beans and discarding anything unwanted, rinse them off and place them in a big pot. Add salt & pepper to taste and fill the pot up with water. Place over medium heat and let cook about 2 hours, adding water as necessary. Slice up the smoked sausage and add it to the pot. Let cook another 2 hours, again adding water as necessary. Serve with fried potatoes and cornbread. Feeds 4.

Cost:
pinto beans – $0.79/bag
smoked sausage – $1.49
potatoes – $2.00/5 lb bag
cornbread mix – $0.29
Total – $3.07

December 11, 2008 - Posted by | -pork, -sausage, MAIN DISHES | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

