The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Cajun boiled peanuts

My hubby is a Georgia man. He told me about boiled peanuts. I had no clue they even existed. After eating them….yum is all I have to say! This recipe makes A LOT of peanuts (5 pounds)…just warning you.

What you’ll need:

5 lbs raw peanuts, in shell
¾ c salt
1 ¼ c dill pickle slices, with brine (juice)
5 small jalapenos, sliced
5 Tbl dry crab boil (like Zatarain’s)

Place all ingredients in a large pot. Pour in enough water to cover the peanuts and stir to combine. Bring to a boil over medium high heat and cook until soft (at least 4 hours), adding water as needed. You want to keep the peanuts covered with water. Use a slotted spoon to remove peanuts from pot. Serve hot.

Cost:
peanuts – in shell – $2.29/lb
pickles – $2.12/jar
jalapeno – $1.08
crab boil – $2.18
Total – $14.63/$2.93 per pound

January 22, 2009 - Posted by | --nuts, -kids favorites, -super snacks | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I do love me some boiled peanuts. So glad you stopped by my blog because it allowed me to find yours. I am all about good food and not spending a fortune.Coco

    Comment by SCREAMING FOR CHOCOLATE | January 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

