The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Southern style collard greens

Let me tell you a secret. I hate collard greens. I also hate ham hocks. But put the two of them together and I love them! Isn’t that odd? This recipe is so easy that it’s almost NOT a recipe but I’m going to post it because I know one day a long time ago I had no idea how to cook collard greens 🙂

What you’ll need:

1 lb ham hocks
3 qt water
5 lb collard greens, washed, stems removed
1 Tbl sugar
Salt and pepper

Place water and ham hocks in a large pan. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and cook until meat is tender (approximately 1 hour). Cut collard leaves in half and put in pan. Add sugar. Stir well. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer on medium heat until collards are tender (approximately 2 hours). Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve with cornbread. Feeds 4 – 6.

Cost:
ham hocks – $3.89
collard greens – $1.12/lb
Total – $9.49

February 4, 2009 - Posted by | -vegetables, SIDE DISHES | ,

2 Comments »

  1. See if ya had said “Mustard Greens” then I would be all over this one.collards ain’t exactly one of my favorite greens. 🙂

    Comment by Scottie | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. SHUT UP… Now I want collard greens with ham…not ham hocks. They are my favorite greens. Yummy. You can tell I am a southern girl can’t you….I grew up next door to you in Louisiana.Coco

    Comment by SCREAMING FOR CHOCOLATE | February 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

