The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Easy chicken and dumplings

I usually make this recipe with the leftover chicken that we have after I bake a chicken. We usually only eat half of it as baked chicken. It’s a really delicious way to use the leftovers.

What you’ll need:

4 boneless, skinless baked chicken breasts OR ½ baked chicken, deboned and skinned OR 1 can chicken chunks
1 large can or 2 small cans cream of mushroom soup
1 large can or 2 small cans cream of chicken soup
1 small can sweet peas, drained
1 can sliced carrots, drained and chopped up
1 c milk
Pepper to taste

For dumplings:

1 c biscuit mix
1 egg
½ c milk

In a large pot over medium heat combine all of the ingredients except for the dumpling ingredients one at a time, stirring well after each addition. Do not add salt. There’s already a lot of salt in the other ingredients. Cook, stirring often, until it comes to a boil. Meanwhile mix together dumpling ingredients in a medium bowl. Mixture will be sticky. Mix just until combined. Using a large spoon, drop the dumpling mixture over the top of the chicken mixture. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover and cook 10 – 12 minutes or until dumplings are cooked through. Feeds 5.

Cost:
chicken breast – $5.00/4 pack
cream of mushroom soup – $0.89
cream of chicken soup – $0.69
sweet peas – $0.99
carrots – $0.89
milk – $3.99/gallon
biscuit mix – $3.00
eggs – $1.09/ dozen
Total – $10.82/$5.82 using leftover chicken

February 6, 2009 - Posted by | -chicken, MAIN DISHES | , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Yummy…If you want to get even faster on the dumplings use flour tortillas. You don’t even have to roll them out. I just slice mine into the right size and toss them in. Coco

    Comment by Coco | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. Aww thank you Anne ♥ You are so sweet 🙂 Have you tried that Crazy Cake yet? It's good stuff 😉

    Comment by ♥ Kathy | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  3. Wow! You have been busy over here girl! I haven’t realized how in depth your recipe blog was. Boy have I been missing out! I’ll have to be sure and keep checking in. I just love your blog here. I think you’ve done a great job. I can tell that you have put in a lot of work here. And I also love the variety of foods you have here, all on one page. Keep up the great work! =)

    Comment by Anne | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the tip Heather! Sounds good and thank you Sherri! I’d love for you to add me to your list 🙂 And you’re more than welcome to use my recipes as long as you give me credit sweetie. I don’t mind at all. SHARING recipes is how we keep them going!

    Comment by ♥ Kathy | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  5. This is great! Thanks for adding me to your link list.I will return the favor! This recipe would be great on my site.

    Comment by sherri | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  6. I love me some quick and easy chicken and dumplings. When I’m feeling really lazy, I won’t even make dumplings. I just cut up some biscuits and throw them in the pot! They turn out great and it’s really not all that different!

    Comment by Heather, aka Jake's Mommy | February 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

