The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Dirt cups

I got to thinking about Valentine’s Day and celebrations that we had when my kids were little. My kids have always liked the odder things lol I guess they’re just like me. Dirt cups were always one of their very favorite treats and they’re super easy to make. If you have any creepy crawlers fans these will be a big hit with them I promise!

What you’ll need:

1 pkg chocolate pudding mix (I use instant but you can use the cooked type just make sure you let the pudding cool completely before putting the cups together)
Milk to make the pudding
10 – 15 Oreo or other chocolate sandwich cookies
1 pkg gummy worms

Prepare pudding according to directions. Place cookies in a zipper close baggie and then in between two thick towels. Beat them with a hammer or a rolling pin until they are crushed. That’s fun =) Fill a plastic cup about ¾ of the way full with pudding. Top with dirt: crushed cookies. Stick a worm (or several worms if your kids are like mine) into the dirt. Makes 4 dirt cups.

These are also cute made in miniature plastic flower pots! Just make sure they’re cleaned first.

Cost:
pudding – $0.49/ box
milk – $3.99/gallon
chocolate sandwich cookies – $2.29
gummy worms – $1.99
Total – $4.37/$1.09 per cup

February 9, 2009 - Posted by | -chocolate, -kids favorites, -pudding, DELICIOUS DESSERTS | , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. LOL WENDY 😀 If they’re cupcakes the kids will love them no matter what they look like and at least now you know what NOT to do :-p I admire your gumption to try anyway, especially since you came from a lettuce wedge momma 🙂

    Comment by ♥ Kathy | February 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh, and by the way I have been asking around to see how many people I know have heard of these and it seems like EVERYONE in the universe has heard of these except me.My mom was a big “salted lettuce wedge” snack advocate. LOL!

    Comment by Wendy | February 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. Okay, mine didn’t turn out that great. They would have if I’d been thinking straight. Duh. I baked the cupcakes regular then frosted them so the dirt would stick.Like a dummy, however, I wanted the worms to look kinda like they were coming up out of the cupcake so I sprinkled some of the dirt over part of the worm and it just ended up looking like I’d had a big accident in the kitchen more than anything. ;-)Oh well, they will love them. They don’t have your lovely picture to compare mine to!

    Comment by Wendy | February 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. Oh Oh Oh lol use green cupcake liners (they usually have multi colored packs at Walmart) that could be the grass 🙂

    Comment by ♥ Kathy | February 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. Oh I bet they'd be great as cupcakes you could actually just mix some crushed cookies into the cake mix before you bake them; stick the worms in after or they'd probably melt (I'm thinkin on my feet here lol) you could either sprinkle crushed cookies on top of the frosting or you could fold some crushed cookies into the frosting to make it like a rocky spot the worms are coming out…:) Use chocolate cake & chocolate frosting…I just love this cutsie stuff!

    Comment by ♥ Kathy | February 10, 2009 | Reply

  6. I have never even HEARD of these!!! So cool! I have been trying to think of something interesting to take to my son’s class on Wednesday because it’s his birthday and I thought it would be fun to take a special snack to school that day. The best I had come up with was a boring old cupcake. This is WAY better.Hey, even without the pudding I could still do cupcakes with the dirt and worm, huh? Then I wouldn’t have to refrigerate them. Hmm.You rock, Kathy.

    Comment by Wendy | February 10, 2009 | Reply

  7. Typically kids love these. I never served my kids because I just didn’t do sugar at my house….I saved that for my private stash late at night…. muhhwaaahhh….

    Comment by Coco | February 9, 2009 | Reply

  8. oh we have something very similar to this at the local ice cream parlor! they are called Mr. Dirt. It is similar because it has the crushed up oreo for dirt, ice cream and then a little face on it with the edible eyes, a cherry for a nose, and then a gummy worm in the cup. He was always my favorite!!

    Comment by Aaydens Mommy | February 9, 2009 | Reply

  9. Aww Heather lol see? My kids are weird 🙂 They’d say PUT MORE WORMS!! haha So cute!

    Comment by ♥ Kathy | February 9, 2009 | Reply

  10. This was a big hit when I was growing up! But, I tried to give it to my son for the first time a few weeks ago and he couldn’t get passed the name. He kept telling me, “no, mommy. I don’t eat dirt!” It was the funniest thing.

    Comment by Heather, aka Jake's Mommy | February 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

