The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Chunky chicken salad


I worked for almost 10 years in a certain roast beef restaurant that shall remain nameless but I’m sure you would all recognize the hat. 😉 We made THE BEST chicken salad I have ever eaten! (With the exception of my grandmother’s of course.) The recipe we used at the restaurant made an enormous amount of chicken salad (as I’m sure you can imagine) so I scaled it down for home use. I left all the ingredients the same.

What you’ll need:

2 large (1 lb/ 16 oz) cans breast meat chicken chunks, drained and rinsed
1 cup (1 large or 2 small) diced red apples with the skins on
1 cup red seedless grapes, rinsed and sliced in half *measure after slicing*
½ cup diced fresh celery
½ cup chopped pecans
1 ½ cups mayonnaise

Put your gloves on because this recipe gets mixed by hand…literally! Add ingredients one at a time into a large bowl ending with the mayonnaise. Add the mayo ½ cup at a time and slightly stir in with a large spoon until you’ve reached desired creaminess. Use more for really creamy chicken salad and less for a dryer chicken salad. Mix it really well with your hands. This ensures that the mayo and the juices from the other ingredients get thoroughly mixed and if you use a spoon to just mix it up a little it will not taste the same I promise. I know because I tried it. Sometimes I’m stubborn. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours before serving. Serve on bread with lettuce or topping lettuce in a bowl or stuffed in a pita like in the picture mmm mmm. This makes about 2 ½ pounds of chicken salad or 8 – 10 servings. It can be kept refrigerated in an airtight container up to 3 days.

Cost:
canned chicken chunks – $2.50
apples – $2.25/bag
grapes – $1.99/bunch
celery – $0.99
pecans – $3.00
mayonnaise – $2.50
Total – $10.24

February 27, 2009 - Posted by | -chicken, -party ideas, -vote for Foodista contest, MAIN DISHES | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. looks like a great combo~

    Comment by once in a blue moon... | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Chicken Salad is one of my favorite recipes!!!!This one sounds great- I’ll have to try it!

    Comment by sherri | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. Ohhh that looks good, I’m hittin’ the grocers to pick up the fixins!

    Comment by SweetPeaSurry | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. Well I am so glad that you came by to visit my blog… I just came over to say thanks for stopping by but I think I have found a wonderful blog… I was so excited just to see the first recipe (which BTW I love). I will be checking out all your post… Thanks again for coming by…HUGSDonna

    Comment by squawmama | February 27, 2009 | Reply

  5. Yum. I love chicken salad. For those worried about the sodium in canned chicken a rotisserie chicken is quick and convenient too. My fav has grapes and chopped up water chestnuts for that crunch. Then I add dill. It has been a long time since I had chicken salad with apples and that really sounds good. You have the best recipes 😉

    Comment by Coco | February 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

