The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Just a tip

When writing a recipe for shellfish, I often say that you can serve it with clarified butter. Having grown up all over the Gulf coast, that’s a normal sounding thing to me but after talking to my friend yesterday I realized many people have no idea what that is and decided today I would tell you…

How to clarify butter…

Place butter in top of a double boiler over hot water. Let stand just until the butter melts. When the whey (the milky sediment) separates, pour off the clear fat, slowly, into a serving bowl. That’s your clarified butter. Discard the whey. It’s excellent with boiled shrimp and lobster.

September 8, 2009 - Posted by | -how to..., TIPS |

4 Comments »

  1. That is interesting. I have never heard of clarified butter. Now I have! Glad you are feeling better and recovered from the flu.

    Comment by morrow | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi ya. Me again. I have given you an award. Please drop by for the details. So sorry about your loss.

    Comment by Coco | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. Butter is the secret to life! What doesn't taste good with butter? Even butter tastes good with butter – no, I don't use a lot, but when I do, I really enjoy it. I used to just melt it and add a squirt of fresh lemon juice in it and go dipping!

    Comment by Doris Sturm | September 9, 2009 | Reply

  4. I didn't know that. I just melted butter. However, my poison of choice with shrimp, can't afford lobster, is cocktail sauce. The more loaded with horseradish the better….

    Comment by Coco | September 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

