The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Poll

I sent my husband to the store last night for some milk and that got me thinking about how I do my shopping which in turn got me thinking about how YOU do your shopping. I have done my shopping many ways over the years and have finally gotten to a place that I’m comfortable. You might say that I’ve grown in my ability to shop well.

I used to be the girl that would panic when I was asked “What’s for dinner?”. I’d jump in the car and rush to the store only to find myself wandering around trying to decide what I was going to cook. Most of the time I’d grab something that looked easy and then get home and realize that a) I’d spent a lot of money on just one meal and b) I didn’t have everything I needed to make that meal.

That’s when I learned how to plan my meals. I’d still go to the store every day but I’d have a list and did somewhat better in the shopping department.

Several YEARS later, I decided I was pretty good at shopping and attempted to shop only once a week. I did ok with that. I still forgot things and had to return to the store during the week but I was no longer panicking about it. (Some of you may have realized by now that I have major obsessive/compulsive tendencies so that was really quite an accomplishment for me not to panic.)

Now 25+ years into my shopping experience I can plan my meals out once a month. I have a little help doing this with a meal planner. It’s pretty nifty. I write out all my meals and then all the ingredients that will be needed to make them and ta da! I have a shopping list. Don’t get me wrong, it doesn’t do the work for me. I do it all by hand, writing it out, but by writing each day I tend to not miss anything. I’ve also learned to buy in bulk which saves a lot of money. I even buy my eggs 5 dozen at a time. That costs $5.06 for 5 dozen eggs which comes out to $1.01 a dozen or 8 cents per egg. The only time I need to go to the store each month is when I run out of milk or bread (two things that I can’t seem to keep enough of in my house) and sometimes things I decide I just want suddenly…urges in other words.

Now that I’ve rambled for 10 minutes and most of you have probably clicked off this page and gone on to something more interesting, I’ll get to my point. Like I said back at the beginning, I wonder about you and how you do your shopping. Will you take a minute and let me know? Please? It would make me very happy πŸ™‚

If you’d like, leave a comment and go into any details that you want to let me know how you voted and why you voted that way…..or just to let me know that I’m crazy (since this is something I already know, it’s really unneccessary for you to tell me but if you just feel the need then by all means do it!). Have a great day everyone and I’ll see you tomorrow with an actual recipe!

February 15, 2010 - Posted by | OTHER STUFF | ,

4 Comments »

  1. Okay Kathy, what to do about cooking for only 2 people…?

    Comment by maryt/theteach | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • I only cook for two most the time Mary πŸ™‚ And I shop once a month….we have our granddaughters a lot but Lexi is mainly a baby food kind of girl and Livi lives on scrambled eggs, frozen pizzas and cereal LOL

      Comment by Kat | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • OH, and we have one night a week that is a “leftover night” because I just can’t seem to only make food that is just enough to feed two…there are ALWAYS leftovers so one night a week we eat them πŸ˜€

      Comment by Kat | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. I didn’t vote. I don’t plan my meals. But I do keep meal making ingredients in pantry and freezer.

    I shop once a week. When some item I use regularly is getting low, I write it on the list. The day before I shop I go through the kitchen, pantry, and freezer (quickly) looking for items which aren’t on the list but need to be purchased and write them down. Then I get out the sale circulars and check them for good buys. If something I use is on sale, but not on the list, I will generally buy it. On the list, I will note sale prices and the store which has them.

    This has worked well for me for a long time. For some reason I can’t explain, meal planning leaves me cold. But in the morning I force myself to think about what’s for dinner, and choose from what I have on hand. The only day I ever allow myself to go to the store to find out what’s for dinner is shopping day.

    Thanks for coming by my Blue Monday! I will follow this blog, I like the idea of eating good food without spending a fortune!

    Comment by Dimple | February 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

