The Eat Food NOT Money Cookbook

Super cheesy enchiladas

My kids have always been absolutely head over heels in love with my super cheesy enchiladas! I guarantee everyone will love them!

What you’ll need:

1 lb ground beef
1 pkg taco seasoning
1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce
1 can red enchilada sauce
12 pack flour tortillas
1 bag shredded cheese, Mexican blend, separated in ½
1 can nacho cheese

Brown the ground beef, drain and return to pan. Stir in seasoning. Add sauces and heat through. With a slotted spoon, fill each tortilla with meat and cheese. Try not to put too much sauce inside each enchilada. Roll them up and lay them in a casserole dish. When all the tortillas are filled and rolled pour the remaining sauce over the top of the enchiladas making sure that all the tortillas have sauce on them. Spread the canned cheese on top of that. Sprinkle the second ½ of the shredded cheese on top of that. Bake in the oven @ 350 degrees for about 20 minutes or until cheese is melted. Garnish on individual plates with sour cream. Serve with refried beans and Spanish rice. Feeds 4.

Cost:
ground beef – $2.00/lb
taco seasoning – $0.50
tomato sauce – $0.33/can
red sauce – $0.89
tortillas – $1.18
shredded cheese – mixed Mexican blend – $1.69
nacho cheese – $2.12
sour cream – $0.99
refried beans – $1.08
Spanish rice – $1.12
Total – $11.90

December 9, 2008 - Posted by | ----ground beef, -beef, -kids favorites, -vote for Foodista contest, MAIN DISHES | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. thank you so much! =)

    Comment by Kathy Brakhage | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Kathy-this sounds similar to my enchilada recipe, but is also very different, but yours gives me an idea. I use corn tortillas. Anyway, very,very cool sit/blog. My passion is cooking/baking. I have recently started my recipe book, don’t know it will do. I am your first follower here and will visit often. Keep cookin!

    Comment by aries28 | December 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment